So who am I?

Well, I thought in this instant media world I should take a few seconds to start my diary. I am not a stranger to diaries, refilling my Filofax with a new insert every year without fail. Last year I even filled in the personal details on it, still time this year to do the same. But I have found a brand new leaf to turn over, so here goes, a few details about myself.

First, My name is Iain Westland, that is me, not a fake profile or a hidden self. Me, Myself and I

Age, depends on your position on the journey of life, being young, middle-aged and old all at the same time. Statistics will tell you I am 43, my mother will too, but most people who meet me sooner or later decide on immature.

Family, very fortunate to have a lovely and supporting wife. A twenty year old Step-son, he makes me very proud just do not tell him. And an eight year old son, quite mouthy at times, very obedient at others, just how an eight year old should be!!

Education, Grammar School up to 16 but then had to leave – family reasons before you wonder. Now I have just started on an Open University course, should help to get the grey matter going.

Build, skinny. Not the skinny of slim rather the skinny of ‘run around in the shower to get wet’. I under eat at times, feast at others, foods a bit of a hit and miss for me. I am a big fan of it, don’t get me wrong, but it’s not of prime importance.

Drink, used to, in fact I probably drunk enough for me and you. Gave up over three years ago, and to be honest not really missed it. Don’t get me wrong, one o’clock in the morning when everybody else has moved on from English to the Global language of Gibberish that all Drunks are fluent in, its hard work. But I never really get the urge to join them any more.

So what’s left? Oh colour. To some this seems quite important, not sure why, but you might as well know. I am white, as in milk. Not tanned or even slightly pink but white. Simple..

I am English, well actually half Scottish and half English. But my heart screams England, Patriotically, Proudly and loudly England. I love it, I love the Flag, I love the people, mostly. Ding-a-ling-a-ling, that just set some alarm bells a ringing. White and patriotic, must make him a Neo-Nazi… Sorry to disappoint, but no.

I will agree I am more right than centre, if that’s a problem, tell the Conservatives. Will I be this till the day I die, probably not. You see I believe that politics, especially personal politics should evolve. I am happy to change my views, to dogmatically remain entrenched seems crazy in a world where politician’s change their policies as often as their expense claims. To blindly walk into the ballot box and put your mark next to the same old party is the same abdication as those who refuse to vote as ‘It wont change ought, they never listen’.

So, I suppose this will be my journey through personal politics. Where will it end? some where over there, in the future, unknown. Quite looking forward to this journey, Who knows, I might even see you at the end

This entry was posted in Grass Hoppers Chair. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment